Published on

Lionel Messi claims a record 7th Ballon D'or as the Argentine continues to dominate and impress on the field


The Ballon D'or ceremony was much awaited this time around as last year's gala was cancelled due to Covid-19. However, last night saw Lionel Messi claim his record seventh Ballon D'or as he was crowned at the Theatre du Chatelet in Paris.

The Argentine finished above Robert Lewandowski who came in at second place while Jorginho finished third. In Women's football, Barcelona star, Alexia Putellas won the Women's Ballon D'or.

The 34-year old scored 38 goals in 48 games in all competitions last season for FC Barcelona as he won the Copa del Rey with his former club. Earlier this season in July, Messi led his nation to Copa America glory which was his first major international title of his iconic career.

Since he made his heartbreaking departure from FC Barcelona to PSG in the summer, the Argentine has got off to a slow start to life in Ligue 1 as he scored four goals in 11 games in all competitions so far this season.

In terms of rivalry, Messi has got two more Ballon D'or than Cristiano Ronaldo (who has five).

The pair have dominated the award in the last 12 out of 13 editions of football's greatest individual award as Real Madrid's and Croatia's Luka Modric claimed the spotlight in 2018 after a remarkable year with Los Blancos and his national side. Cristiano Ronaldo finished sixth in the overall Ballon D'or rankings.

Men's top 10 winners from the 2021 Ballon D'or gala in Paris:

  1. Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)
  2. Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich)
  3. Jorginho (Italy/Chelsea)
  4. Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
  5. N'Golo Kante (France/Chelsea)
  6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Juventus - Manchester United)
  7. Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)
  8. Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)
  9. Kylian Mbappe (France/PSG)
  10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan - PSG)

Women's top 10 winners from the 2021 Ballon D'or gala in Paris:

  1. Alexia Putellas (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  2. Jennifer Hermoso (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  3. Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
  4. Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)
  5. Lieke Martens (Netherlands/FC Barcelona)
  6. Christine Sinclair (Canada/Portland Storms)
  7. Pernille Harder (Denmark/Chelsea)
  8. Ashley Lawrence (Canada/PSG)
  9. Jessie Fleming (Canada/Chelsea)
  10. Fran Kirby (England/Chelsea)

Kopa Trophy Top 3 (Best Youngster)

  1. Pedri (Spain/FC Barcelona)
  2. Jude Bellingham (England/Borussia Dortmund)
  3. Jamal Musiała (Germany/Bayern Munich)

Yashin Trophy Top 3 (Best Goalkeeper)

  1. Gianluigi Donnarumma Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy/AC Milan - PSG)
  2. Edouard Mendy (Senegal/Chelsea)
  3. Jan Oblak (Slovenia/Atletico Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski won the inaugural "Striker of the year" award.